Page 1 of 1

The used table type doesn't support FULLTEXT indexes

Posted: 2013-06-04 17:46
by xdaniel
Hi Fred,

haven't been here for a long time, because everything worked. Over night I got the following error:

The used table type doesn't support FULLTEXT indexes

I didn't change anything in the database ...

Any idea?

Best wishes

Daniel

Re: The used table type doesn't support FULLTEXT indexes

Posted: 2013-06-07 11:03
by Fred
Hi Daniel,
Was there maybe an MySql upgrade by your ISP?

As you probably know MySql supports different types of tables. Most commonly used are MyISAM and InnoDB With MyISAM the only type that supports Full-text indexes.
http://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/5.1/en/ ... tions.html

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/9635 ... es-problem

Re: The used table type doesn't support FULLTEXT indexes

Posted: 2013-06-07 16:30
by xdaniel
Hi Fred,

maybe there was an update. This database runs on:

Server: xyz.de via TCP/IP
Server Version: 5.5.30-30.2-log
Protokoll-Version: 10

MySQL-Client-Version: 5.1.66
PHP Erweiterung (Extension): mysql

PHP-Version is 5.3.21

TableType is MyISAM. I didn't changed this anyway.

I even copied everything into a new datadabe to check if it corrupt, but it wasn't.

If I use the normal mysql search with MATCH AGAINST ...IN BOOLEAN MODE it works. So I think it is a problem with the extensions?

Best wishes

Daniel

Re: The used table type doesn't support FULLTEXT indexes

Posted: 2013-06-09 09:04
by Fred
Daniel
I am on MySql 5.1.68 and php 5.3.16 and everything works just fine.

Try and set your searchtype in your page like this:

Code: Select all

$KTSE_rsSearch->setSearchType("normal");

Re: The used table type doesn't support FULLTEXT indexes

Posted: 2019-07-30 17:48
by jamo
Fred wrote: 2013-06-09 09:04 Daniel
I am on MySql 5.1.68 and php 5.3.16 and everything works just fine.

Try and set your searchtype in your page like this:

Code: Select all

$KTSE_rsSearch->setSearchType("normal");
Cheers Fred... suffering from the legacy script blues. Your fix worked for this after a database version upgrade too... THANKS :)

Having encoding issues with the " & " in strings in the backend of a site today also, going to try your php 5.5 scripts to see if it works.

Jimmy