Send Email working / not working

Accumike

Send Email working / not working

Post by Accumike » 2012-06-29 12:37

Hi Fred,
I've been using these great Interakt products since 2006.
I have used the Send Email function when updating records etc. with great success, but recently I have come across the following problem:

When developing a new record update page with associated email template, I find that the email will send OK to a hard-wired address, but fails to a dynamic address. This is bizarre, because the existing update/email page sets all still work, sending emails to dynamic addresses. These pages are all within the same site. This site is sending several hundred emails each week with no problems with the older pages.

As far as I can tell, the Send Email Trigger code section for sending emails is the same in every case, apart from the detail differences (to: subject: etc.), but the newer pages fail to send the email.

Any ideas?

Regards

Michael Bullard

Fred
Site Admin

Re: Send Email working / not working

Post by Fred » 2012-06-29 13:49

Hi Micheal,
Ok it is working in the old pages so we can safely assume the problem is something in the new pages.

Check the sequence of the code. I have seen the extensions sometimes adding a "require" or "include" in the wrong order and something on the page will stop working.
A stupid mistake I sometimes make is to forget to add access restriction to the page and then cant figure out why certain session variables are not available.

Is the email address already available in the page before you sent the email? Try to echo it somewhere and see if you actually get the value.
Is the send email function a custom transaction? Make sure the value is still accessible inside the function by declaring it as a global value.

Accumike

Post by Accumike » 2012-06-29 16:43

Hi Fred

Thanks for the quick reply. I have done these checks:

The email address appears in the email body if you use a fixed email address.